Muizenberg: amateur surfer

With loads of enthusiasm I prepared for one of the top things on my bucket list.

Last summer I was very privileged to go surfing with a few friends as it is not a regular thing we do. We found ourselves in Muizeburg a very popular place for surfers.  Everyday the beach is full of surfers and general people who love the sea. If you a surfer you should definitely try Cape Town. 

image
First lesson

But wait…. was my first lesson what  I expected? 
This was a joke, it was everything but!  I could carry the board as it was too big for my arms to actually fit around it. Nevertheless,  after the coach had a safety chat with us
I was amped for the water.  It was as if I was in a movie everything happened in slow motion…. until reality happened.  The board flew right into my face with myself tumbling under the waves.  I struggled to get back up but as soon as I was stable another wave came. This was terrible…. lesson learnt: Never expert things to be perfect.
Quote
People are rewarded in public for things they practiced for years in private”

I guess that every surfer experienced the same thing I have experienced.  Over all for my very first time I personally think it went well. Just need more practice!

image
Myself and felicia totally excited

Keep moving forward,  never give up!

Where there is a will there’s a way. ♡

Leave a Reply

