Obedience

Simply  means : Obeying or doing  what what was instructed. 

I am sure we are all fimilair with the term obedience and I am sure that you have been disobedient during your life time. 

As children of God,obedience  is one of the most important, yet difficult  things in this life.It is ultimately  God’s  will for us to be obedient to  Him and follow his commandments as well as His word. Our obedience to God evidently is our gift to Him. Which he rewards with blessings and peace. Although we can not repay or earn his love, because it is only through his grace that we receive from him.  

During my quiet time this evening, I asked God to give me insight on this topic  and the Holy Spirit  led me to Dueteronomy 28 and 29,  where God expressed His blessing as well as His wrath (Curses) for those who do not obey His commandments.

I would  love to add the entire scripture in this blog  post, but I  also  want to encourage you  to read it yourself, so that it you may read and understand  what is written. 

Dueteronomy 28:1-2 “If you fully obey the LORD your God and carefully follow all his commands I give you today, the LORD your God will set you high above all the nations on earth. All these blessings will come on you and accompany you if you obey the LORD your God.”

The entire  scripture  is filled with amazing heartwarming blessings  that every believer would want to receive. In a nutshell,  the reading expresses  that God will seek  the obiendent and let all his blessing fall apon  them. (definintely read the blessings)You are bound to prosper in the hands of God and as a child of obedience to  your heavenly father.

After a heart warming  session of God’s blessings,  things got real! 

Deuteronomy 28:15 “But if you will not obey the voice of the LORD your God or be careful to do all his commandments and his statutes that I command you today, then all these curses shall come upon you and overtake you. “(MUST READ) 

The scriptures  that follow made my heart beat faster, and I thank God for allowing me to read further than just His blessings. I  feel that as a child of God , I love hearing the good things God has for me, and I  tend  to avoid reading of His wrath. This scripture  is evident that God does not like it when we disobey His commandments. It basically  says the opposite  of having His blessing and that, He will really just scatter and give us up to our enemies… really scary !

Wow, I had no feeling  after reading that! The warn feels  disappeared like vapour, and I realised  that God is the greatest and not to be mocked in any way. 

I  wondered…. what happens  to me now? Because  clearly God knew I would not be obiendent as I am just human. Does this mean,  we fall sort of God’s blessing? And there is no hope for our lives ? 

One word: NO!

I continued  my readings and in Deuteronomy 29  it explains  the “renewal  of the covenant ” and then I  cried out….:”HOPE” and in this passage , God calls us back, doesn’t he always!

 It assures us that God is merciful, that even in our disobedience, he will  forgive us ,if we turn from our old ways and live a holy life, which is in obedience  to Him. It also adds that  whatever  God had said in His curses  will be discarded and that He will restore us to greatness  and that His blessing will seek us again.

I hope that this  post encouraged you to live a holier  life and to strive for obedience as a child of God.Because, God loves you dearly and even in your disobedience He keeps seeking you. I want to  encourage you to  never  stop striving, because in this world  there are so many temptations and we fall for the schemes of this world. 

             GOD IS THE GREATEST! 

Ask Jesus  to help you to identify  your areas of disobedience and ask him to show you how  to improve  and to a more abundant  life.

The blessings of God fall upon  you!

Toni’s  Tips for the stuggle : 

Here are some of the things I practice  to help my struggle…hope it helps you too.

  • Be mindful of God’s  presence Always.
  • Be grateful.
  • Know that you are a Child of God.
  • Pray in time of temptations
  • Cut off things/people that hinder your  walk  (I will be posting on this soon)
  • Spend time reading  His word.
  • Speak obidience into your life!…e.g I am not addicted to…

Thank you for your time you, please share your  thoughts with me by leaving a comment.

2 thoughts on “Obedience

Leave a Reply

